Alpbach in Tyrol – The beauty of Austria

Action and relaxation – The perfect mixture in the Alpbach Valley

The Alpbach Valley extends through the heart of the Kitzbühel Alps between Brixlegg and Inneralpbach. Our Family & Wellness Hotel is located here at an altitude of 1050 m. Surrounded by an impressive mountain landscape, the 4-Star Superior Family & Wellness Resort Galtenberg sits on a sunny mountain plateau. Exciting trips of discovery in nature and pure relaxation go together perfectly here.

Alpbach – An award-winning mountain village

It is often said that good things come in small packages – and this is certainly the case for the beautiful village of Alpbach. The unique aspects of the village are so well maintained that Alpbach has even won awards. The wooden houses of identical style and the impressive flower displays on the balconies help to make Alpbach the unmistakable place it is. Our beautiful village has been crowned "the most beautiful village in Austria" and "the most beautiful flower village in Europe".

The image of the village is shaped by its over 100 active farms – many of which have been maintained in their original style. Some of the 20 ancestral estates have been owned by the same families for over 400 years. Together with the surrounding mountain landscape, the cosy village character makes Alpbach an idyllic holiday destination.

Alpbach – An award-winning mountain village

It is often said that good things come in small packages – and this is certainly the case for the beautiful village of Alpbach. The unique aspects of the village are so well maintained that Alpbach has even won awards. The wooden houses of identical style and the impressive flower displays on the balconies help to make Alpbach the unmistakable place it is. Our beautiful village has been crowned "the most beautiful village in Austria" and "the most beautiful flower village in Europe".

The image of the village is shaped by its over 100 active farms – many of which have been maintained in their original style. Some of the 20 ancestral estates have been owned by the same families for over 400 years. Together with the surrounding mountain landscape, the cosy village character makes Alpbach an idyllic holiday destination.


The culinary specialities of the village are also rooted in days gone by, when the farmhands worked hard on the land all day long. Hearty desserts like Kaiserschmarrn and Melchermus not only provide plenty of energy, they are also extremely delicious.

Explore the mountain world of Tyrol 


There are countless experiences to enjoy and things to explore all around Alpbach. The mountains of Galtenberg (2425 m), which our hotel is named after, Sonnenjoch (2287 m), Standkopf (2228 m) and Wiedersberger Horn (2128 m) form an impressive mountain backdrop which is just waiting to be explored by you.

Hiking in the summer and fun on the slopes in the winter – after a generous breakfast you can get started with both of these activities right outside our Family & Wellness Hotel. This is made possible by 47 ski lift systems and 145 kilometres of ski pistes in the Ski Juwel Alpbachtal Wildschönau family skiing area. The three gondola lifts that are open in summer take you directly from the village to the most family-friendly hiking area in the Alps. A paradise for explorers - both young and old!

Leisure activities and excursions in the Alpbach Valley

Plenty of outstanding leisure activities and excursions await you in the Alpbach Valley of Tyrol. After a few days of wellness relaxation or exploring in the Alpbach Valley, they are ideal for a day trip.

Kufstein Fortress is visible from quite some distance away. Other attractions alongside the Fortress, which make a visit to the beautiful and well-known town of Kufstein worthwhile, include the ruins of Thierberg Castle as well as Hohenstaffing Castle.

Trip to Innsbruck (45 min)

Innsbruck is the state capital of Tyrol and one of its major attractions is simply to take a walk through the Gothic old town with its famous "Golden Roof". Anyone who would like to take a break from the many shopping opportunities to explore even more attractions will be sure to find what they are looking for with sights like the Helbling House, the Imperial Palace, the Alpine Zoo and the Bergisel Ski Jump.

Trip to the town of Rattenberg (18 Min.)

The glassmaking town of Rattenberg, which is the smallest town in Tyrol, takes you on a journey through time back to the Middle Ages. From businesses rich in tradition and museums through to little boutiques: Here, everything is about glassmaking and craftsmanship. The old town also features attractions such as the charming Rattenberg Parish Church, the Nail Smiths' Houses and the Augustinian Monastery with museum. For those who love culture, we recommend a visit to the Rattenberg Castle Theatre Festival.

Trip to Innsbruck (45 min)

Innsbruck is the state capital of Tyrol and one of its major attractions is simply to take a walk through the Gothic old town with its famous "Golden Roof". Anyone who would like to take a break from the many shopping opportunities to explore even more attractions will be sure to find what they are looking for with sights like the Helbling House, the Imperial Palace, the Alpine Zoo and the Bergisel Ski Jump.

Trip to the town of Rattenberg (18 Min.)

The glassmaking town of Rattenberg, which is the smallest town in Tyrol, takes you on a journey through time back to the Middle Ages. From businesses rich in tradition and museums through to little boutiques: Here, everything is about glassmaking and craftsmanship. The old town also features attractions such as the charming Rattenberg Parish Church, the Nail Smiths' Houses and the Augustinian Monastery with museum. For those who love culture, we recommend a visit to the Rattenberg Castle Theatre Festival.

Tratzberg Castle (30 Min.)

The Renaissance-era Tratzberg Castle towers over the Inntal Valley as if in a fairytale. The ornate rooms, old paintings and historic armaments can be viewed as part of a guided tour from the end of March to the beginning of November. Children can discover the castle and the Middle Ages along with their parents on an exciting fairytale tour. Other attractions include the "Tratzberg-Express" sightseeing train, the playground and evening tours with knight's banquet and entertainment. And by the way: Children's birthday parties can also be held here.

Skiing on the Hintertux Glacier in summer


How about a bit of skiing in the middle of summer? This is entirely possible on the Hintertux Glacier at an altitude of over 3000 m. Once you get back down to the valley, a trip on the Achenseebahn Railway offers an enjoyable experience for everyone - not just railway enthusiasts! The trip takes you up to the Achensee lake on the oldest rack locomotives in the world. Other highlights include the ErlebnisSennerei Zillertal (an Alpine dairy farm attraction), the Zeiss Planetarium & Silver Mine of Schwaz and the famous Swarovski Crystal Worlds.

Alpbach Valley Lakeland - Four swimming lakes to help you relax

The four incredibly beautiful natural swimming lakes in our immediate vicinity provide a refreshing experience outside of our 4*S Galtenberg Family & Wellness Resort.

Berglsteiner lake

The Berglsteiner lake is tucked away between Kramsach and Breitenbach and offers excellent bathing enjoyment with its maximum depth of 2 metres. Sunbathing areas, jetties and shaded areas invite you to while away the hours. A nice restaurant with beautiful terrace located directly beside the lake offers culinary delicacies.

Krumm lake

The Krumm lake and Reintaler lake are among the warmest lakes in Tyrol. You can swim and splash around at cosy temperatures of up to 25°. Well-maintained sunbathing areas, cosy shaded areas, a playground, a restaurant and pedal boat hire round off the facilities available at Krumm lake. Both young and old will be sure to enjoy themselves at Krumm lake, in water that is clean enough to drink.t.

Berglsteiner lake

The Berglsteiner lake is tucked away between Kramsach and Breitenbach and offers excellent bathing enjoyment with its maximum depth of 2 metres. Sunbathing areas, jetties and shaded areas invite you to while away the hours. A nice restaurant with beautiful terrace located directly beside the lake offers culinary delicacies.

Krumm lake

The Krumm lake and Reintaler lake are among the warmest lakes in Tyrol. You can swim and splash around at cosy temperatures of up to 25°. Well-maintained sunbathing areas, cosy shaded areas, a playground, a restaurant and pedal boat hire round off the facilities available at Krumm lake. Both young and old will be sure to enjoy themselves at Krumm lake, in water that is clean enough to drink.t.

Reintaler lake

The Reintaler lake is the largest of the lakes in Kramsach. There is plenty on offer here:  Alongside the fabulous swimming lake and beautiful sunbathing areas, there is also a bathing area for children and toddlers, beach volleyball, playgrounds, a restaurant, pedal boat and bicycle hire as well as a naturist area. Anglers will also be sure to find rest and relaxation at the Reintaler lake.

Reither lake

Reither lake, also known as the "Blue eye of Reith" is located directly in the centre of town surrounded by a large sunbathing area, children's play area, paddling pool and diving board. The lake is monitored by a lifeguard for the safety of the bathers and swimmers.

Anybody who needs to cool down after a hike or a mountain bike tour will be sure to find what they are looking for at one of our beautiful Alpbach lakes. And it is also possible to take a day trip to the larger Achensee lake, which is only around 45 minutes away from us by car.

Excursion destinations in Tyrol for older and younger children

Lauserland

There is a range of very family-friendly excursion destinations in Tyrol, offering many enjoyable experiences for our younger visitors. Lauserland is a huge adventure playground with slides, swings, climbing frames, a zip line, a hobby horse course and a mini rope course.

A special highlight of the park is the Lauser-Sauser, a brand-new Alpine Coaster toboggan run that is open all year round and has an overall length of 1420 m. It's plenty of fun for young and old! Including Photopoint and Speedcheck! The attraction is located directly beside the Wiedersbergerhorn gondola lift top station in Alpbach. The valley station is located very close to our hotel, around 5 minutes' drive away.

Juppi's Enchanted Forest

Juppi's Enchanted Forest is all about family-friendly hiking. The hiking path is 2 kilometres long, accessible to prams and offers plenty of entertainment for the entire family thanks to its various play areas and children's activities. Amazing forest puzzles along the circular hiking path keep everybody interested and the view is simply beautiful. The hiking path is even suitable for prams! The trip up to the location on the 8-seater Reitherkogelbahn gondola (closed on Wednesdays) is just a short drive away.

Hexenwasser Söll

At the Hexenwasser Söll theme park, young explorers learn all about water from many different perspectives at 30 different stations. How it gurgles away, how it gently laps or how it grinds stone away powerfully. In the process, the young explorers not only learn to appreciate water as the source of life, but also find out a lot of interesting things about themselves. And naturally, the children can play, splash and slosh about to their heart's content! It's even enough to knock your socks off: Hexenwasser has Austria's longest barefoot walking trail!

Our special treat for you: The Alpbach-Galtenberg Card

As a guest at the Galtenberg Family & Wellness Hotel, you receive the Alpbach-Galtenberg Card free of charge on arrival. It opens up a world of discounts and free entry to many of the attractions mentioned above and countless others.

Our special treat for you: The Alpbach-Galtenberg Card

As a guest at the Galtenberg Family & Wellness Hotel, you receive the Alpbach-Galtenberg Card free of charge on arrival. It opens up a world of discounts and free entry to many of the attractions mentioned above and countless others.

Alpbach in Tirol – so schön ist Österreich


Action und Entspannung – die perfekte Mischung im Alpbachtal

Zwischen Brixlegg und Inneralpach erstreckt sich im Herzen der Kitzbüheler Alpen das Alpbachtal. Hier ist unser Familien- & Wellnesshotel auf 1.050 m zu Hause. Umgeben von der beeindruckenden Bergwelt befindet sich das 4 Sterne Superior Family & Wellness Resort Galtenberg auf einem sonnigen Gebirgsplateau. Spannende Entdeckungsreisen durch die Natur und Erholung pur passen hier perfekt zusammen.

Alpbach – preisgekröntes Bergdorf


Klein aber oho ist ein oft bemühter Spruch – auf das schöne Alpbach trifft er jedoch zu. Hier wird der dörfliche Charakter so sehr gepflegt, dass Alpbach dafür sogar Preise verliehen bekommt. Der einheitliche Baustil der Holzhäuser und die bezaubernde Blumenpracht auf den Balkonen machen Alpbach unverwechselbar. Das krönt unsere Ortschaft zum „schönsten Dorf Österreichs“ und zum „schönsten Blumendorf Europas“.



Über 100 bewirtschaftete Bauernhöfe – viele von ihnen noch im ursprünglichen Zustand – prägen das Ortsbild. Die 20 Erbhöfe sind zum Teil seit über 400 Jahren im Familienbesitz. Gemeinsam mit der umliegenden Berglandschaft sorgt der vertraute Dorfcharakter für die perfekte Urlaubsidylle.

 

Alpbach – preisgekröntes Bergdorf


Klein aber oho ist ein oft bemühter Spruch – auf das schöne Alpbach trifft er jedoch zu. Hier wird der dörfliche Charakter so sehr gepflegt, dass Alpbach dafür sogar Preise verliehen bekommt. Der einheitliche Baustil der Holzhäuser und die bezaubernde Blumenpracht auf den Balkonen machen Alpbach unverwechselbar. Das krönt unsere Ortschaft zum „schönsten Dorf Österreichs“ und zum „schönsten Blumendorf Europas“.



Über 100 bewirtschaftete Bauernhöfe – viele von ihnen noch im ursprünglichen Zustand – prägen das Ortsbild. Die 20 Erbhöfe sind zum Teil seit über 400 Jahren im Familienbesitz. Gemeinsam mit der umliegenden Berglandschaft sorgt der vertraute Dorfcharakter für die perfekte Urlaubsidylle.

 




Die kulinarischen Spezialitäten sind ebenfalls von alten Zeiten geprägt, als die Knechte an den Höfen den ganzen Tag hart arbeiten mussten. Deftige Süßspeisen wie Kaiserschmarrn oder Melchermus sorgen dabei für die nötige Energie und sind ein süßer Hochgenuss.
 

Entdecken Sie die Bergwelts Tirols

Rund um Alpbach warten unzählige Erlebnisse und Entdeckungen auf Sie. Der Galtenberg (2.425 m), der Namensgeber unseres Hotels, das Sonnenjoch (2.287 m), der Standkopf (2.228 m) und das Wiedersberger Horn (2.128 m) bilden eine beeindruckende Gebirgskulisse, die nur darauf wartet, von Ihnen erkundet zu werden.

Wandern im Sommer und Pistengaudi im Winter – nach einem ausgiebigen Frühstück geht beides für Sie direkt vor unserem Familien- & Wellnesshotel los. 47 Liftanlagen und 145 Pistenkilometer im Familienskigebiet Ski Juwel machen das möglich. Die drei im Sommer geöffneten Gondelbahnen bringen Sie direkt vom Dorf zum familienfreundlichsten Wandergebiet der Alpen. Ein Paradies für kleine und große Entdecker!

Freizeit & Ausflugsmöglichkeiten im Alpbachtal


Im Tiroler Alpbachtal erwarten Sie viele Freizeit- & Ausflugs-Highlights. Sie eignen sich nach ein paar Tagen Wellness oder Entdeckungsreisen im Alpbachtal ideal für einen Tagesausflug.

Schon aus großer Entfernung ist die Festung Kufstein zu sehen. Neben der Festung gibt es mit der Burgruine Thierberg und dem Schloss Hohenstaffing noch weitere gute Gründe für einen Ausflug in die schöne und bekannte Stadt Kufstein. 

Städtereise Innsbruck (45 min)

In der Tiroler Landeshauptstadt Innsbruck lockt vor allem ein Spaziergang durch die gotische Altstadt mit dem berühmten Goldenen Dachl. Wer neben den vielen Möglichkeiten zum Shoppen noch weitere Sehenswürdigkeiten entdecken möchte, ist beim Heblinghaus, bei der Hofburg, dem Alpenzoo oder auf der Bergisel-Skissprungschanze bestens aufgehoben.

Städtereise Rattenberg (18 Min.)

Die Glasstadt Rattenberg, die kleinste Stadt Tirols, entführt Sie auf eine Zeitreise ins Mittelalter. Von Traditionsbetrieben über Museen bis hin zu kleinen Geschäftchen: Hier dreht sich fast alles um das Thema Glas- und Handwerkskunst. In der Altstadt finden Sie außerdem die zauberhafte Rattenberger Pfarrkirche, die Nagelschmiedhäuser und das Augustinerkloster mit Museum. Kulturliebhabern empfehlen wir einen Besuch der Rattenberger Schlossbergspiele.

Städtereise Innsbruck (45 min)

In der Tiroler Landeshauptstadt Innsbruck lockt vor allem ein Spaziergang durch die gotische Altstadt mit dem berühmten Goldenen Dachl. Wer neben den vielen Möglichkeiten zum Shoppen noch weitere Sehenswürdigkeiten entdecken möchte, ist beim Heblinghaus, bei der Hofburg, dem Alpenzoo oder auf der Bergisel-Skissprungschanze bestens aufgehoben.

Städtereise Rattenberg (18 Min.)

Die Glasstadt Rattenberg, die kleinste Stadt Tirols, entführt Sie auf eine Zeitreise ins Mittelalter. Von Traditionsbetrieben über Museen bis hin zu kleinen Geschäftchen: Hier dreht sich fast alles um das Thema Glas- und Handwerkskunst. In der Altstadt finden Sie außerdem die zauberhafte Rattenberger Pfarrkirche, die Nagelschmiedhäuser und das Augustinerkloster mit Museum. Kulturliebhabern empfehlen wir einen Besuch der Rattenberger Schlossbergspiele.

Schloss Tratzberg (30 Min.)


Wie einem Märchen entsprungen thront das Renaissanceschloss Tratzberg über dem Inntal. Hier gibt es im Rahmen einer Führung von Ende März bis Anfang November prunkvolle Gemächer, alte Gemälde und historische Rüstungen zu sehen. Kinder können das Schloss und die Ritterzeit bei einer spannenden Märchenführung zeitgleich mit ihren Eltern entdecken. Weitere Attraktionen sind der Bummelzug "Tratzberg- Express", der Spielplatz, Abendführungen mit Rittertafel inkl. Rahmenprogramm. Übrigens: auch Kindergeburtstage lassen sich hier feiern.

Skifahren auf dem Hintertuxer Gletscher im Sommer


Wie wäre es mit einer Runde Skifahren mitten im Sommer? Auf dem Hintertuxer
Gletscher auf über 3.000 m Höhe ist das kein Problem. Wieder unten im Tal
angekommen ist eine Fahrt mit der Achenseebahn nicht nur für Eisenbahnromantiker
ein Erlebnis. Dabei fahren Sie mit den ältesten Zahnradlokomotiven der Welt hinauf zum
Achensee. Weitere Highlights sind die ErlebnisSennerei Zillertal, das Zeissplanetarium
& Silberbergwerk Schwaz und die berühmten Swarovski Kristallwelten.
 

Alpbachtal Seenland - Vier Badeseen zum Erholen

Für eine erfrischende außerhalb unseres 4*S Galtenberg Familys & Wellness Resorts sorgen die vier wunderschönen Naturbadesseen in unmittelbarer Umgebung. 
 

Berglsteinersee

Der Berglsteinersee liegt versteckt zwischen Kramsach und Breitenbach und bietet mit einer maximalen Tiefe von 2 Metern wunderbares Badevergnügen. Wiesen, Stege und Schattenplätze laden zum Verweilen ein. Ein nettes Restaurant mit schöner Terrasse direkt am See versorgt Sie mit kulinarischen Leckerbissen.

Krummsee

Der Krummsee sowie der Reintaler See gehören zu den wärmsten Seen Tirols. Bei bis zu 25° lässt es sich gemütlich planschen und schwimmen. Gepflegte Liegewiesen, gemütliche Schattenplätze, ein Spielplatz, ein Restaurant und ein Tretbootverleih runden das Angebot am Krummsee ab. Hier haben Groß und Klein ihren Spaß im Krumsee, der sogar mit Trinkwasserqualität punktet.

Berglsteinersee

Der Berglsteinersee liegt versteckt zwischen Kramsach und Breitenbach und bietet mit einer maximalen Tiefe von 2 Metern wunderbares Badevergnügen. Wiesen, Stege und Schattenplätze laden zum Verweilen ein. Ein nettes Restaurant mit schöner Terrasse direkt am See versorgt Sie mit kulinarischen Leckerbissen.

Krummsee

Der Krummsee sowie der Reintaler See gehören zu den wärmsten Seen Tirols. Bei bis zu 25° lässt es sich gemütlich planschen und schwimmen. Gepflegte Liegewiesen, gemütliche Schattenplätze, ein Spielplatz, ein Restaurant und ein Tretbootverleih runden das Angebot am Krummsee ab. Hier haben Groß und Klein ihren Spaß im Krumsee, der sogar mit Trinkwasserqualität punktet.

Reintaler See


Der Reintaler See ist der Größte der Kramsacher Seen. Hier wird viel geboten:  neben dem traumhaften Badesee und schönen Liegewiesen gibt es auch einen Badebereich für Kinder und Kleinkinder, Beachvolleyball, Spielplätze, ein Restaurant, Tretboot- und Fahrradverleih, sowie einen FKK-Bereich. Angler finden ebenfalls am Reintaler See Entspannung und Ruhe.

Reithersee


Der Reithersee, auch das „Blaue Auge von Reith“ genannt, liegt direkt in der Ortsmitte umgeben von einer großen Liegewiese, Kinderspielbereich, Planschbecken und Sprungbrett. Der See ist zur Sicherheit der Badegäste durch einen Bademeister überwacht.

Wer also nach einer Wanderung oder einer Mountainbike Tour Abkühlung sucht, findet sie an einem unserer schönen Alpbacher Seen. Und wer es etwas größer mag kann einen Tagesausflug zum Achensee machen - den erreicht man von uns mit dem Auto bequem in ca. 45 min.
 

Tiroler Ausflugsziele für große und kleine Kinder

Lauserland

In Tirol gibt es eine Reihe besonders familienfreundlicher Ausflugsziele, die viele Erlebnisse für die kleinen Gäste versprechen. Im Lauserland bilden Rutschen, Schaukeln, Klettergerüste, eine Seilrutsche, der Steckenpferdparcours und ein Minihochseilgarten einen riesigen Abenteuerspielplatz. 

Ein ganz besonderes Highlight ist hier der Lauser-Sauser, der nagelneue Alpine Coaster, eine Ganzjahres-Rodelbahn mit einer Gesamtlänge von 1.420m. Ein Riesenspaß für Groß und Klein! Inklusive Fotopoint und Geschwindigkeitsmessung! Die Attraktion befindet sich direkt an der Bergstation der Wiedersbergerhornbahn in Alpbach. Die Talstation befindet sich in unmittelbarer Nähe unseres Hotels, ca. 5 min mit dem Auto erreichbar.

Juppi Zauberwald


Wie familiengerechtes Wandern geht, weiß man im Juppi Zauberwald. Auf dem 2 km langen kinderwagenfreundlichen Wanderweg gibt es für die ganze Familie jede Menge Abwechslung durch verschiedene Spielstationen und Kinderprogramme. Tolle Waldrätsel entlang des Rundwanderweges sorgen für Abwechslung und die Aussicht ist einfach wunderschön. Der Wanderweg ist auch für Kinderwagen geeignet! Die Auffahrt mit der 8er-Gondel Reitherkogelbahn (Mittwoch Ruhetag) ist nur eine kurze Autofahrt entfernt. 
 

Hexenwasser Söll

Im Hexenwasser Söll lernen die kleinen Entdecker auf den 30 Stationen das Element Wasser aus vielen neuen Blickwinkeln kennen. Wie es gluckst und gurgelt, wie es leise dahinplätschert oder kraftvoll Steine schleift. Dabei lernen die kleinen Entdecker nicht nur Wasser als Quelle des Lebens zu schätzen, sondern auch allerlei Spannendes über sich selbst. Aber natürlich darf auch nach Herzenslust gespielt, geplanscht und gematscht werden! Da zieht es Ihnen doch glatt die Schuhe aus: Am Hexenwasser gibt es den längsten Barfußpfad Österreichs!
 

Unser spezielles Zuckerl für Sie: Die Alpbach Seenland Card

Als Gast im Family & Wellness Hotel Galtenberg bekommen Sie bei Ihrer Ankunft die Alpbach-Galtenberg Card kostenlos. Damit eröffnet sich Ihnen eine Welt voller Ermäßigungen und kostenlosen Eintritten in vielen der genannten und unzähligen weiteren Attraktionen.

Unser spezielles Zuckerl für Sie: Die Alpbach Seenland Card

Als Gast im Family & Wellness Hotel Galtenberg bekommen Sie bei Ihrer Ankunft die Alpbach-Galtenberg Card kostenlos. Damit eröffnet sich Ihnen eine Welt voller Ermäßigungen und kostenlosen Eintritten in vielen der genannten und unzähligen weiteren Attraktionen.